I MINA 'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTIONS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE AUTHORS REPORT FILED	NOTES
527-37 (COR)		Relative to recognizing Ambros Inc. on their 75th Anniversary; and commending the Ambros Inc. Team on their contributions to the economy of Guam and the broader Pacific region.	9/12/24 8:12 a.m.	9/17/24 5:00 p.m.						

I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2024 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 527-37 (COR)

Introduced by:

Tina Rose Muña Barnes 🛪

Relative to recognizing Ambros Inc. on their 75th Anniversary; and commending the Ambros Inc. Team on their contributions to the economy of Guam and the broader Pacific region.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I* 2 *MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN*:

WHEREAS, on August 30, 1949, Ambros Inc. was founded by the late
Ambrosio Torres Shimizu, along with his partners Vance O. Smith and Vicente Palomo.
The company began by selling military surplus products; and

- 6 WHEREAS, Ambros Inc. demonstrated incredible tenacity and vision,
 7 becoming the exclusive wholesaler of Anheuser-Busch products on Guam, with an
 8 initial shipment of just five hundred (500) cases of Budweiser; and
- 9 WHEREAS, in 1973, Ambrosio Shimizu bought out his partners and passed the
 10 business operations to his sons Frank and Joseph, with his youngest son, Paul, joining
 11 the business in 1980; and

WHEREAS, Ambros Inc. diversified its product lines to include fine wines, liquors, household products, and professional items, thereby expanding its market presence and becoming a major distributor of renowned brands such as Bacardi Rum, Grey Goose Vodka, Patron Tequila, Wente Wines, Kimberly-Clark, and Ziploc, among others; and WHEREAS, the company continued its expansion by establishing Marianas
Pacific Distributors in Saipan, and later extended its operations to the Federated States
of Micronesia and Palau, further expanding its reach with the creation of South Pacific
Distributors, Inc. in Pago Pago, American Samoa in 2014, proudly updating its branding
to reflect its service across Oceania; and

6 WHEREAS, under the leadership of General Manager Thomas G. Shimizu, a 7 member of the third generation of the Shimizu family, Ambros Inc. has remained 8 focused on growth and diversification, adding new products and expanding existing 9 supplier portfolios while continuing to ensure the development of future generations 10 through both formal education and hands-on experience; and

WHEREAS, despite facing challenges brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic and the devastation of Typhoon Mawar, Ambros Inc. has remained resilient by adapting to the needs of its employees and the marketplace, supporting its team and continuing its proud tradition of family values; and

WHEREAS, Ambros Inc., now with four generations of the Shimizu family having worked within the company, remains one of the top companies in Guam and the wider Pacific region, providing employment and contributing significantly to the island's economy; and

WHEREAS, Ambros Inc. is committed to ensuring the continued flow of new ideas and fresh energy to grow the company as it looks toward the future and new opportunities in the Pacific region and beyond; and now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rule of *I Mina'trentai Siette Na Liheslaturan Guahan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize Ambros Inc. on their 75th Anniversary; and commend the Ambros Inc. Team on their contributions to the economy of Guam and the broader Pacific region.; and **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules
 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of
 the same be thereafter transmitted to Thomas G. Shimizu, General Manager of Ambros
 Inc., and to the Honorable Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero, *I Maga 'hågan Guahan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE DAY OF MONTH.

THERESE M. TERLAJE Speaker

CHRIS BARNETT Chairperson, Committee on Rules

AMANDA L. SHELTON Legislative Secretary